Astrology – A Vedanga

Jyotish Shastra is a part of Vedanga.Its difficult to tell the exact time period when Astrology started, yet we find that from ancient time our ancestors had the knowledge of graha-ganita and graha gati.IN earlier days scholars studied the sky, and made conclusions out of the planetary motions.
So what is Jyotish Shastra? Scholars called the twinkling stars as jyoti, study of this jyoti is a shastra known as jyotish shastra.
Astrology is divided into 3 parts 1. Siddhanta 2. Samhita and 3. Hora.

Siddhanta Consists all mathematics and calculations.Samhita consists information on planetary motions, dhoom ketu, comets, results of explosions on sun etc.
Hora on other hand consists of studying planetary positions at the time of human birth and analyzing it to know ones future.
Astrology is practiced all over the world. There are 2 main types – Tropical and Sidereal or Nirayan.
Nirayan system uses Ayanamsa which is an astronomical term for amount of precision. Lahiri Ayanamsa is used in delineation of charts.
The compendium of astrology called Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra is considered as bible of astrology and contains wealth of information on predictive astrology. There are other classics too like Jaimini Sutras, Brihat Jataka, Jataka Tattwa, Saravali, Uttarakalamritam, jataka desamarga, jataka chandrika etc etc.
Lets delve deeper into this divine science and live a better life.

2 thoughts on “Astrology – A Vedanga

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s